It’s All About the Heart

Day Four

So for the past 3 posts I’ve been talking about the first 3 Chakras. To backpedal and learn a little bit about the background you can check out the past three chakra posts; The Root, The Saccral and The Solar Plexus. Today we’re getting down to the heart of the matter, as Don Henly says, and taking a look at the fourth chakra, The Heart or Anahata as it’s called in Sanskrit meaning “sound vibration of the heart”

Anahata or The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is located near the center of the breast bone. The heart chakra is centered around complex emotions and relationships with others. Physically Anahata governs circulation and is associated with the heart, thymus gland, lower lung. Emotionally Anahata governs unconditional love for oneself and others. Mentally the fourth chakra governs passion, and spirituality. A balanced heart chakra is expressed in self acceptance, the acceptance of others and the ability to follow your own direction in life.

The Color of Your Heart (Chakra)

The color associated with the heart chakra is Green. Green symbolizes harmony, creativity, health, abundance and nature. It is the combining of yellow (soul) and blue (spirit). Green, nature’s color, offers new energy and revitalizes tired nerves.

Get Stoned

All the green stones – emerald, green tourmaline, malachite, jade, chrysoprase, dipotase, peridot, aventurine, moss agate, green jasper – are used with the heart chakra. Though green is the primary color used with the heart chakra, it’s also said that pink stones (such as rose quartz or rhodonite) can be used if more softness, affection and love seem to be needed in working with the heart chakra.

Oil ‘Er Up
One of the most well known of the fourth chakra essentials oils is Rose oil, a heart-healer commonly used to combat depression. It is said that Rose oil will increase positive thoughts, a sense of spiritualism and feelings of hope and happiness (sounds good!)
A Mantra From “The Man”
Deepak Chopra is totally “The Man” when it comes to spirituality, for me at least…or one of the “men” should I say. Deepak, and many others, recommend the YUM mantra for healing the heart.
To perform this exercise you begin by sitting in a comfortable position, closing your eyes and envisioning a green light surrounding you heart chakra. Deeply breathing in and exhaling letting go of any thoughts of the past. As you deeply breath focusing on the green light filling and surrounding your heart with pure love and as you exhale saying or chanting the word yum, the healing sound that resinates with the heart chakra.
Believe me…I know it sounds a little bananas. I thought so the first time I sat to meditate alone (or do any type of short mantra), but try it. You just might be like Mikey and like it. I feel peaceful and totally relaxed after I meditate…just give it a shot…this one’s pretty simple and will only take a couple of minutes.
If you are a beginner or want a little challenge in meditating The Chopra Center has a 21 Day Meditation Challenge starting on November 5th. To register for FREE click HERE.

Sending you so much love and peace.


I can see you GETTIN’ FIERCE!